Your Current Location:/ > Brief Introductin > Tournament Resources
Sudirman Cup

The Sudirman Cup is the World Team Championships, held every two years, and one of the most prestigious titles in the sport. The event was first held in the Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta, Indonesia 24-29 May 1989 with 28 nations taking part and it now attracts more than 30 national teams with 59 teams entering in the 1997 Sudirman Cup in Glasgow Scotland.

The Cup is named after Dick Sudirman, a former Indonesian badminton player and the founder of the Badminton Association of Indonesia (PBSI).

Until 2003 the Sudirman Cup took place alongside the World Badminton Championships (Individuals) before becoming a stand alone Championships for the first time in Eindhoven, Netherlands in 2003.
There is no prize money in Sudirman Cup; players play for their respective countries and to earn BWF world ranking points and national prestige.
Since 1989, only three countries – Indonesia, Korea and China, have won the Sudirman Cup. The Chinese Team win in 2015 was their 10th win of the Sudirman Cup.
The Sudirman Cup stands 80 cm high. It is made of 22 carat (92%) gold-plated solid silver and stands on an octagonal base made of jati wood (Java teak wood). The body of the Cup is in the form of a shuttlecock and is surmounted by a replica of the Borobudur Temple. The handles are in the shape of stamens, symbolising the seeds of badminton.
The Sudirman Cup is an international competition that does not stage a qualification round. The competing teams are divided into 7 groups based on their performances. Only teams in group 1 will have a chance to lift the trophy as the teams in other groups fight for promotion. The teams who finish last in the group will be relegated to the lower group, except the final group. The promotion-relegation system was last used in 2009 and teams competing will now grouped by world rankings.
Indonesia initially won the tournament in 1989. Throughout the history of the tournament, eight countries have reached through to the semifinal round in all tournaments of Sudirman Cup: China, Denmark, England, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Thailand and Japan.
China is the most successful national team in the Sudirman Cup (10 victories), followed by Korea (4 victories) and Indonesia (1 victory). The Cup has never been won by a non-Asian country, Denmark is the only European country that came close to winning it, in 1999 and 2011.
Contact Us Tel:(86)771-2350022
桂ICP备19000530号 桂公网安备 45010302001708号
Copyright ©2019 2019南宁 2019 年道达尔 苏迪曼杯世界羽毛球混合团体锦标赛组委会